teaching with twitter…the epilogue

Update: as a prelude to this presentation, I was interviewed by lead instructional designer Peter Campbell of Montclair on Twitter. Here is the link to three podcasts recently made available on the University website. I hope you may find some value in my words and my academic use of twitter. It was a truly memorable experience. Thanks again to all my friends and colleagues who have been instrumental in the twittosphere and beyond…

today I presented a faculty forum on teaching with Twitter. I had a good turnout (small group but they were interested) and a cheering section. At the end of the presentation, I went live to my fellow Twitterers to say hello and I want to thank all those who replied. The response was instantaneous–and the audience impressed. 

some of the things that people who didn’t attend may have missed included: 1) my stunning Italian linen dress 😉 ; 2) some notes and observations on twitter in education; and 3) good questions about twitter. Below, I give you some of the key ideas on twitter & teaching and I hope they might encourage you to think about it as a tool in whatever line of work you do.

   

I want to thank a group of followers for graciously providing me with screenshots for my presentation, which really provided a grasp of the various ways to tweet: Francesco, Luke, Milos, and Sharon, and, of course Michael, for retweeting and saving me, yet again.

Anyone interested in developing twitter as a FL classroom tool, in more defined ways, please contact me as I think it’s truly valuable.

P.S. Thanks also to AJ, who was tweeting about my presentation during my presentation! Didn’t see this until today.

 

14 pensieri riguardo “teaching with twitter…the epilogue

  1. Great forum on Twitter! I just started seriously using it a few days ago and I’m still trying to fully comprehend the uses of it. Very interesting ideas on the pedagogical uses.

  2. thanks the comment & attending. Nice to hear you started twittering and looks like you are following some good twitterers. I’ll follow you too, if you accept my request. The uses of it: well, the longer you use it the more you appreciate how accommodating it is to what you want to do.

    I’ve proposed a book chapter on my study this semester and I hope to develop that aspect of Twitter more thoroughly.

    Happy twittering!

Lascia un commento